Make the world go round

Chakra Chain, Jewelry Repair and Black Bean Couscous Salad

Posted on: January 17, 2011

 
Chakra Chain
Chakra Chain

I’ve been wanting to make a nicer chain for my quartz crystal, but everything I’ve tried that was a true chain always ended up catching and breaking. I finally took inspiration from the rosary I have and combined that with the traditional colors for chakra’s so that I could easily have a way to focus my energies appropriately and came up with this. I threw in some hematite too, I’d heard it was good for healing. It’s more of a rainbow than I expected now that it’s all said and done, but I like it much better than the plain old black cord it was on. Since I just wear this chain at night to absorb the energy of the crystal I think it’ll be okay. I have no true knowledge of this stuff so I’m going on faith that if I believe it, it’ll work for me. And to some extent, it certainly has. I haven’t done much with the chakra’s themselves, but there are meditations in the book I have, and in the old days when I used to have trouble sleeping at night the meditations were extremely helpful to me and allowed to me relax and let go of the all the useless noise in my head that was keeping me awake. My hope is that by having the colors of the chakra’s represented in my necklace I will find a balance that I’m still seeking….

Jewelry Repair

Jewelry Repair

I had some broken jewelry lying around so since   my tools out to make the chakra chain I went ahead and fixed all of them, so I got two of my most favorite necklaces back in action, and wore one of them to work today. 🙂  Two of them we inherited bought pieces and the one in the middle is one of the first necklaces I ever made. I really should do more with the small beads and seed beads, I end up liking those necklaces the most. I haven’t seen a lot of them out there, but then again, I’ve never intentionally looked for them, so maybe I could find a lot of inspiration if I just looked.

Black Bean Couscous Salad

Black Bean Couscous Salad

Last but not least, in any way, is the new Black Bean Couscous salad I made for dinner. Again it comes from one of my favorite cookbooks, Desperation Dinners. I have some staple recipes that I always use in the book but I was in the mood for something different so I stumbled across this one. The weather is unseasonably warm, over 80 today, so I was also trying to plan for some easy cooler recipes, as opposed to the warming comfort food I was making two weeks ago. So this one calls for couscous, black beans, corn, evoo, red wine vinegar, cumin, green onions, green bell peppers (I didn’t use them, I substituted extra corn), fresh lime juice, and salt and pepper to taste. I had a few issues with the couscous being overly watery, so I’ll have to figure out how to get it to cool down for the salad without soaking up that much water, and my daughter wished it had more flavor, so next time I think I’ll throw in a packet of taco seasoning to the water before I make the couscous. We served it with fresh avocado and pita chips (it called for blue corn chips, but we had the pita chips on hand) and it was a hit. I definitely think I’ll take this to the next potluck instead of the typical pasta salad. This one will be added to our easy summer hot night recipes list for sure. It was delicious and I can’t wait for leftovers tomorrow when I see how well the flavors melded together overnight. Yum!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

On Twitter

Archives

