Make the world go round

Passport Wallet

Posted on: February 21, 2011

I have an announcement.

I suck at sewing.

There, I said it.

Thankfully I had the whole day off to complete my sewing project. Which was not the plan. The plan was to sew the passport wallet, sew the joker hat, start working on the seahorse and ultra-terrestrial and then finally, find my hot glue gun and start working on the tea holder. Maybe I was a little ambitious. I did think it would take all weekend, and I only spent one of the three days crafting, so there is that. But till. It took me the following shows to get through the project, The Mentalist, The Cape, Cupcake Wars, Off the Map,  Being Human (BBC), Vampire Diaries, and then two episodes of Being Human (SciFi). Thank goodness for recorded television! and for being all caught up!

Passport Wallet Fabric

Now, for the project: last weekend I  found this pattern for the Passport Wallet on Google and then I went through my stash and found this fabric. I had just the right blends to pull this off for a fashionable accessory for my mother-in-law who is traveling to Guam and Japan this Spring. I was able to get the fabric cut out, then had to run out to get interfacing. Once I got the interfacing I cut those out as well, and then I didn’t get to touch it again until today.

So this morning I set up a mini-sewing station in our living room in front of the tv so I could watch all the shows I mentioned earlier while I whipped this out. I got plenty of exercise going back and forth between the sewing station and the ironing station (oh, and the kitchen too!) so even though I feel like I didn’t do a darn thing today, I know I walked a few hundred steps and finished this beast!

The pattern wasn’t difficult, I’m just impatient and tend to rush into sewing, then I realize my tension is wrong and so the back side is lots of great loops, except I wasn’t making a lion’s mane. Or, I put the pieces together and start basting without realizing that I didn’t have the right sides together. So I spent a lot of time fixing my mistakes. In the end though, I think it looks good. Not as professional as Maia’s but, hey, I’m a novice here so I think I did okay. I know my mother-in-law  will appreciate it, and I can’t wait to give it to her! Here are the final shots. One closed and one opened up where you can see the inside and the storage for credit cards, ID, passport, pen, change and more…

Oh, one of the cool things about this, is that I re-used an iced coffee cup to serve as the vinyl for the ID cover. After a week under a stack of heavy books it flattened out enough to sew it in, and once it was stitched down did the job perfectly! Click for bigger pictures so you can see the detail on the inside.

Passport Wallet ClosedPassport Wallet Open

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

On Twitter

Archives

