Make the world go round

Keepsake Folder

Posted on: March 3, 2011

Another project for the world traveler.

Whenever I travel I have the best intentions of keeping all my tickets, receipts brochures, maps, etc. and bringing them home to create a wonderful, rich, scrapbook or special memory book, like my oldest friend and her husband created after their trip to Italy. I’d love to show you the book, but it’s packed away in one of my favorite boxes. 🙂

However, what I end up with is a bunch of torn brochures, folded papers and crumpled receipts  stuck inside a newspaper,  with many more items lost along the way. When I get home they are  thrown into a box with all my other travel memorabilia intending to use them, but never getting around to it. I am good at boxes. I have a lot of boxes.

To help my mother-in-law and give her a better chance than I give myself, I (and by I, I do mean Andrea from Saving the World) created this cute Keepsake Folder to safely store all her paper memorabilia while she’s traveling. (Andrea crafted this while I was working on the Scrappy Stuffed Heart.)

Keepsake FolderThis is what you’ll need:

  • Velcro Plastic Envelope for 8 1/2″x 11″ paper (Dollar Store)
  • Stickers
  • Die Cuts

This one is so easy, it doesn’t even need instructions!

Decorate your envelope using stickers and die cuts to make the envelope a personalized memento for your world traveler.

Tip: If you’re using letter stickers, layer two colors together to create a drop shadow effect.

This folder would be good for traveler’s and honeymooners’, scrapbooker’s, friends that are remodeling (to keep all their samples, paint colors, etc.), crafter’s (to keep patterns, samples for color matching, etc.) and even for athlete’s that are competing in a special event away from home.

Another easy, but thoughtful project that will be a hit with your loved one. Enjoy!

PS. It’s very convenient that the travel journal I (and again, I really means Andrea) made, fits perfectly inside the Keepsake Folder and will be conveniently located for the traveler to record special moments about each day as they carefully store their memorabilia in the folder.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

On Twitter

Archives

