Make the world go round

Tie Dye Cupcakes

Posted on: March 5, 2011

As promised back in January when I posted about Hippy Candy, I have created the Tie Dye Cupcake!

Tie Dye Cupcake Single

Using a cake mix from the store, I prepared the cupcakes according to the package directions. To go along with the multi-color tie dye feel, I opted to use the white mix with the color sprinkles mixed in, some places call it Funfetti, others Party Rainbow Chip.

I also cheated saved time and used the cream cheese frosting in a can from the grocery story and piped it on with the large tip to give it a little texture. (This was the first time I was able to get the tip to work as expected, it made frosting the cupcakes so fast and look that much more professional.)

Tie Dye Cupcakes Closeup

(Sorry for the bad lighting in these pictures, it was dark by the time I
was ready to photograph and I don’t have a lot of good light it turns out.)

I used the same recipe to melt the candies for the toppers as i described in the Hippy Candy post. I used Jolly Rancher’s and I also tried Lifesavers. I made them thicker this time so they didn’t break when I was pulling them apart at the end. I only had one break this time, so I think that was the trick. The lifesavers taste great, but the candy does not melt as well and the colors are not quite right for the bright tie dye feeling. You could probably pick better selections of colors if you weren’t just using the multi-flavor bag with 60 candies in them. If you were doing a more natural affair and wanted muted colors, the lifesavers are definitely the way to go!

These cupcakes came together really quick, even with making the candy. One issue, I found was that I didn’t have enough cookie cutters to do two batches at once, so it did take a little longer than I’d hoped by having to wait for the candy to cool enough for me to reuse the cookie cutters. Oh! When you’re breaking the candy apart with your hammer, please make sure not to smash the tip of your finger instead of the candy. I can definitely say that I will making some variation of these again!

Tie Dye Cupcakes

1 Response to "Tie Dye Cupcakes"

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

On Twitter

Archives

