Make the world go round

Maggie Too

Posted on: March 21, 2011

In line with the abundance of destashing in the blogosphere, I’ve been wanting to use up some of my yarn supply (it has nothing to do with telling myself I don’t get to buy more yarn until I’ve decreased my stash). Crochet is the easiest craft for me to consistently do since it’s easy to work on while the family catches up on the hours of DVR.

Maggie Too

This is the Crochet Lola doll, we dubbed her "Maggie Too"

I like to keep at least one project going so I always have something to fall back on. I especially love small projects that produce results quickly, although there is something to said for the rhythm of a large project when it’s a stitch you love to create. (like the Hooded Baby Blanket). I think I’m going to create some stitch samplers so I’ll have them to remember my favorite stitches.

So this project came from the Lion Brand Yarn website, it’s their Crochet Lola (they also have a knit version). I’ve never made a doll before and I haven’t done anything with changing colors, so this stretched me a little, and I love the way it turned out.

Since I was destashing, I didn’t follow the pattern for yarn recommendations, and the gauge is definitely off in some places, but I think it adds to the charm of the handmade feel. The colors also could have been more fitting, but again, I was working with what I had on hand, and I’m still pleased with her!

Maggie Too Hair

Maggie's hair is two different sizes of curls, and I can't wait to crochet a whole bunch for our beanies!

My favorite part of Maggie Too is the hair, the cute little curls really add texture and bounce and bring her to life! I love them so much (and so does the Fruit Ninja) that I’m working on a beanie pattern that will incorporate the curls and create an adorable beanie hat to wear next winter.
Maggie Too was crafted with the intention of giving the Fruit Ninja’s dad a companion while his wife is off traveling the world. We figured it would help him to have someone to talk to (other than the cat) while she’s visiting their daughter in Guam. [Note: they were supposed to visit Japan as part of the world traveling trip, due to the events there that part of the trip has obviously been cancelled. Our hearts go out to everyone in Japan and remind you to be prepared, you never know what will happen, or when. Love your people!] I think Maggie Too will work terrifically as a temporary companion and more importantly, I love that he loved her as much as we did!

Maggie Too Action Shot

Maggie Too with her new companion and in her new home!

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 38 other followers

On Twitter

Archives

